Get This is How it Always is
This is How it Always is Epub & Pdf

Overview :

This is How it Always is by Laurie Frankel Details

Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a warm, touching and bittersweet novel about a family that's just like any other - until it's not. For readers of…

Check it in Amazon
Advertisement

This is How it Always is By Laurie Frankel

Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a warm, touching and bittersweet novel about a family that's just like any other - until it's not. For readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY.

'A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them...Sparkles with wit and wisdom' Maria Semple, bestselling author of WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE. Rosie and Penn always wanted a daughter.

Four sons later, they decide to try one last time - and their beautiful little boy Claude is born. Life continues happily for this big, loving family until the day when Claude says that, when he grows up, he wants to be a girl.

As far as Rosie and Penn are concerned, bright, funny and wonderful Claude can be whoever he or she wants. But as problems begin at school and in the community, the family faces a seemingly impossible dilemma: should Claude change, or should they and Claude try to change the world? Warm, touching and bittersweet, THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about families, love and how we choose to define ourselves.

It will make you laugh and cry - and see the world differently. .

Advertisement

Amazon Editorial Reviews for : This is How it Always is

An Amazon Best Book of January 2017: In recent years we’ve seen an increasing number of memoirs from transgender individuals and from parents forging uncharted waters in order to help their transgender children live happy, healthy lives in a society that still largely defines gender by what’s in your pants. In her novel This is How It Always Is Laurie Frankel takes those real-life experiences and puts them into a big-hearted story of family and secrets. Penn and Rosie are a close, loving couple, living in Madison, Wisconsin with their five boys. But it becomes evident before long that their youngest, Claude, feels like he should have been born a girl. So how do these strong, supportive parents go about helping their son live as the person he wants to be? It’s a fascinating thing to behold. The nuances and unforeseen pitfalls of trying to protect your child from fear and hate while nurturing a sense of acceptance is daunting. What is private and what is a secret, and what is, really, nobody’s business? Sometimes secrets have a way of materializing in the blink of an eye or the span of an innocuous question, and this novel is about the lengths we will go, as parents and siblings, to protect each other. And how we react when our secrets are exposed. This is How It Always Is in an incredible read that speaks to the heart of what it means to love and be loved by family. –Seira Wilson, The Amazon Book Review

Please don't review this Book if you received a freebie for writing this review, or if you're connected in any way to the owner.

Get This is How it Always is
This is How it Always is Epub & Pdf